Share on Facebook or Email to friends  

Bookmark and Share

Engineers and Scientists Elect Their New Committee
Pictures by Nath Cooray

At a recently held Annual General meeting at Rising Sun Restaurant and Hotel in Middlesex the members of the Society of Sri Lankan Engineers and Scientists elected their new Committee. Vithanage Dhanaratne (Dhane) was elected the President while Gerald Alwis and Chaminda Karunaratne were elected as the General Secretary and the Treasurer respectively.

The meeting was attended by the Patron of the Society Mr Sugeeshwara Gunaratna, Acting Sri Lankan High Commissioner in the UK.

The outgoing president Leslie Gunaratne welcomed and thanked the Patron, all the members and spouses for attending the meeting. He took the members through the journey of the society from its inception to date while outgoing secretary, Dhanaratne updated the committee of the activities of the society during the past year. Gamini Kulasena, the treasurer presented the financial report.

Patron, Mr Gunaratna in his speech expressed his mix feelings of being happy to be among a very educated and experienced group of professionals but bit sad that their services are not available in Sri Lanka. However, the committee said that their services were always available but no requests were received. Nevertheless, the society is supporting three universities with bursaries to the students.

 The main item on the agenda was the election of office bearers. The patron, acting High Commissioner presided over the election assisted by the Secretary. The newly elected committee are as follows:

President:                   A D Vithanage Dhanaratne (Dhane) 
Gen Secretary:           Gerald Alwis
Treasurer:                   Chaminda Karunaratne
Vice President:           Ranga Wisidagama
Vice President:           Asiri Bamunuarachchi
Asst. Secretary:          Darshana Hathtotuwa
Publicity Secretary:   Nath Cooray
Asst. Treasurer:          Gamini Kulasena
Committee Members:
Leslie Gunaratne, Kumar De Silva, P Gnananandan. Albert Senanayake, Anusha Seneviratne, Janath Jayawardena, Keerthi Devendra, Tharaka Kotalawala, Lal Silva, Nendun Mohottige, Piyatissa Liyanage, Tissa Wellappili, Thisara Kodagoda.

Mr Sugeeshwara Gunaratna and Leslie Gunaratne (Immediate Past President) will be the Patron and Vice Patron respectively as per the constitution.

Incoming President, Vithanage Dhanaratne, thanked the members for having the confidence in him and electing him once again for the important office of President . He said that although he was initially reluctant to come forward as the president  he would now undertake the full responsibility and offer his full commitment.  He sought the support and the pledge from the committee for a similar commitment.

The meeting was followed by a lunch.

The Next Event organised by the Society will be the Annual Ball held at the Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel On the 10th September 2016. All Engineers, Scientists and well wishers are invited. Contact  Dhane on 0795 814 3675 for details. To join the society please visit the website:  www.ssles.org.uk


SESATHA - The Sri Lankan Event Portal in UK